Department of Medical Statistics, University Goettingen

Prof. Tim Friede


Head of Department
Phone:
0551-39-4991
Telefax:
0551-39-4995
E-Mail:
Tim.Friede@med.uni-goettingen.de
Office room:
Humboldtallee 32, GF 124

Short biography

Since January 2010 Tim Friede is Professor of Biostatistics at the University Medical Center Göttingen where he heads up the Department of Medical Statistics. He graduated in Mathematics (Dipl.-Math.) from the University of Karlsruhe and obtained a PhD (Dr.sc.hum.) from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Heidelberg. In 2001 he joined the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Lancaster University as NHS Training Fellow in Medical Statistics and was later promoted to Lecturer in Biostatistics. From 2004 he worked for Novartis Pharma AG, Basel before joining Warwick Medical School as Associate Professor of Medical Statistics in October 2006. In 2014 he was awarded the certificate „Biometry in Medicine“ by the German Society for Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology (GMDS) and the German Region of the International Biometric Society (IBS-DR) which demonstrates his qualification as trial statistician.

Since 2011 Tim Friede is also director of the Centre for Informatics, Statistics und Epidemiology that comprises of four departments, namely the Department of Medical Informatics, the Department of Medical Statistics, the Department of Genetic Epidemiology and the Department of Bioinformatics. In 2015 he joined the newly founded Sino-German Institute for Social Computing (SGISC). At the heart of the new Institute of the Universities of Göttingen, Germany and Nanjing, China lies interdisciplinary research on social networks and BIG DATA.

Since March 2015 Tim Friede is President of the German Region of the International Biometric Society (IBS-DR). Previously he was Vize-President for one year and served the German Region as well as the international society in various funtions including as member of the international council from 2008 – 2013, as member of the Editorial Advisory Committee from 2008 – 2015 and as member of the council of the German Region from 2005 – 2009.

Tim Friede is Section Editor of PLoS ONE as well as Associate Editor of Biometrical Journal and BMC Medical Research Methodology. From 2009 to 2011 he was Editor-in-Chief of the Biometrical Journal jointly with Professor Leonhard Held (Zurich). From 2003 - 2011 he was a member of the Editorial Board of the Drug Information Journal.

He is principal investigator in the Deutsches Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK, German centre for cardiovascular research) and in the EU funded „Innovative methodology for small populations research“ (InSPiRe) project. He also serves as trial statistician for a number of clinical studies including the EU-CERT-ICD cohort, several DZHK studies, the DZNE Phase 1 dose-escalation study VostatAD01, and the EARLY PRO-TECT Alport study. An overview over the ongoing research projects can be found under Research.

Tim Friede's methodological research interests are in clinical biostatistics including designs for clinical trials (in particular flexible adaptive designs), systematic reviews / meta-analyses (see Systematic Review Unit) and generalized evidence synthesis as well as applications in rare diseases.

In 1999 Tim Friede was awarded the GMDS Student Prize for his master thesis. In 2001 he won the Young Scientist Award by the IBS-DR with his PhD thesis. In 2012 he was awarded the Paul-Martini-Prize of the GMDS jointly with Dr Heinz Schmidli (Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Switzerland).


Selected Publications

Institut für Medizinische Statistik - UMG

Prof. Dr. Tim Friede


Institutsdirektor
Telefon:
0551-39-4991
Telefax:
0551-39-4995
E-Mail:
Tim.Friede@med.uni-goettingen.de
Ort:
Humboldtallee 32, EG 124

Kurzbiographie

Seit Januar 2010 ist Tim Friede Professor für Biostatistik an der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, wo er das Institut für Medizinische Statistik leitet. Nach seinem Diplom in Mathematik an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) wurde er an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg zum Dr.sc.hum promoviert. Im Januar 2001 ging er nach Lancaster ans Department of Mathematics and Statistics zunächst als NHS Training Fellow in Medical Statistics und später als Lecturer in Biostatistics. Von 2004 arbeitete er bei der Novartis Pharma AG in Basel, bevor er im Herbst 2006 an die Warwick Medical School als Associate Professor of Medical Statistics ging. In 2014 wurde ihm das Zertifikat „Biometrie in der Medizin“ der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie (GMDS) und der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR) zu erkannt, das ihn als erfahrenen Studienstatistiker ausweist.

Seit 2011 ist Tim Friede auch geschäftsführender Leiter des Zentrums Informatik, Statistik und Epidemiologie, zu dem die Institute für Medizinische Informatik, für Medizinische Statistik, für Genetische Epidemiologie und für Bioinformatik gehören. Zudem ist er Mitglied im neu gegründeten Sino-German Institute for Social Computing (SGISC), das sich mit interdisziplinärer Forschung in den Feldern Soziale Netze und BIG DATA beschäftigt. Das SGISC wurde gemeinsam von den Universitäten Göttingen und Nanjing, China gegründet.

Seit März 2015 ist Tim Friede Präsident der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR). Zuvor war er Vize-Präsident für ein Jahr und hat der Deutschen Region sowie der internationalen Muttergesellschaft in vielfältigen Funktionen gedient (Mitglied des internationalen Councils von 2008 – 2013, Mitglied im Editorial Advisory Committee 2008-2015, Mitglied des Beirates der Deutschen Region von 2005-2009).

Tim Friede ist Section Editor bei PLoS ONE sowie Associate Editor beim Biometrical Journal und bei BMC Medical Research Methodology. Von 2009 – 2011 war Tim Friede Editor-in-Chief des Biometrical Journals zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Leonhard Held (Zürich) und von 2003-2011 Mitglied des Editorial Boards des Drug Information Journal.

Er ist Principal Investigator im Deutschen Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK) und im von der EU geförderten „Innovative methodology for small populations research“ (InSPiRe) Projekt. Zudem ist er Studienstatistiker einer Vielzahl von klinischer Studien, z.B. der EU-CERT-ICD Kohorte, einer Reihe von Studien im DZHK, der DZNE Phase I Dosis-Eskalationsstudie VostatAD01 und der BMBF geförderten EARLY PRO-TECT Alport Studie. Eine Übersicht der laufenden Forschungsprojekte findet sich unter Forschung.

Seine methodischen Forschungsinteressen liegen in der klinischen Biostatistik mit Schwerpunkten zu Designs für klinische Studien (insbesondere flexible adaptive Designs), zur generalisierten Evidenzsynthese (inkl. systematische Reviews und Meta-Analysen (siehe Systematic Review Unit) und Anwendungen in seltenen Erkrankungen.

Tim Friede wurde von der GMDS 1999 mit dem Förderpreis für Studierende für seine Diplomarbeit „Adaptive Fallzahlplanung in klinischen Studien in der t-Test-Situation“ ausgezeichnet. Wenig später erhielt er dann 2001 den Nachwuchsförderpreis der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR) für seine Dissertation zu internen Pilotstudien. In 2012 wurde ihm der Paul-Martini-Preis zur Förderung der Entwicklung wissenschaftlicher Methoden zur Beurteilung klinisch-pharmakologischer und therapeutischer Maßnahmen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie (GMDS) gemeinsam mit Dr. Heinz Schmidli (Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Schweiz) verliehen.

Ausgewählte Publikationen